New Mayors for many of Canada’s big Cities

The news headlines last week were Calgary and no doubt this week they will be for Toronto’s mayoral victory for Rob Ford. However, CULC/CBUC member libraries and their boards are going to be spending a lot of time with their newly elected Mayors and Council. Here are some of the changes:


Calgary – Haheed Nenshi replaces Dave Bronconnier who did not run.

The incumbent Mayor, Stephen Mandel, won in Edmonton.


Barrie – Jeff Lehman defeated incumbent Dave Aspen.

Burlington – Rick Goldring defeated incumbent Cam Jackson.

Hamilton – Bob Bratina defeated incumbent Fred Eisenberger and former mayor Larry Di Ianni.

London – Joe Fontana defeated incumbent Anne Marie DeCicco-Best.

Oshawa – John G. Henry defeats incumbent John Gray.

Ottawa – Jim Watson defeated incumbent Larry O’Brien.

Thunder Bay – Keith Hobbs defeated incumbent Lynn Peterson.

Toronto – Rob Ford replaces David Miller who did not run. He defeated former Deputy Premier George Smitherman and current Deputy Mayor Joe Pantalone.

Vaughan – Maurizio Bevilacqua (who recently gave up his federal MP seat to run) defeated incumbent Linda Jackson

Incumbents in Brampton (Susan Fennell), Cambridge (Doug Craig), Kitchener (Carl Zehr), Markham (Frank Scarpitti), Mississauga (Hazel McCallion), Oakville (Rob Burton), Richmond Hill (Dave Barrow), St. Catharines (Brian McMullan), Windsor (Eddie Francis) and Whitby (Pat Perkins) won another term.


The incumbent Mayor, Sam Katz, won in Winnipeg.

It's #WorldBookDay and we should be celebrating. Instead we are fighting on behalf of 1 in 10 Canadians with print disabilities. Please RT to help us convince @CQualtro and @cafreeland not to cut $4 million in funding for #accessible books 3 million Canadians rely on. #cdnpoli

The Government of Canada is cutting funding for accessible book production in Canada by $1 million each year until it is fully eliminated in 2015, resulting in fewer books, less choice, less service for our users. Help us stop the cuts! #cdnpoli #AccessibleBooksMatter #a11y

Load More...